Hello from conflicted pastor

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by God's in Charge, Dec 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. God's in Charge

God's in Charge Puritan Board Freshman

My past still confuses me.
    I graduated from Rhema Bible College (Kenneth Hagin' word of faith school) in 1990. It was at this school that I learned to have such a high regard for the "Infallible Scriptures". In fact the Bible was held so high they taught very little church leadership or anything else. Hagin rarely opened the book in class because he'd memorized the entire NT and we'd follow along as he quoted entire chapters word for word faster than we could read. From this teaching I read scarcely anything but the Bible for many years.

You already know where many hours in the Bible eventually leads - reformed theology.

But at school it was the real Jesus and the real Bible that was lifted up. There was also a zeal for prayer and Christian love that I'm still trying to match in the church I lead. My graduating friends have all left the tangent teachings in the dust but remained faithful to Christ and his Church.

So what's the conflict?

How in the world do you hold the Bible that high, bear that much good fruit and get that far off center?

I pioneered LifeChurch in Gorham, Maine and have pastored there for 20 years, the church is vibrant and growing. I'm overstating my case if it sounds like I think about this too often. But, my reason for joining here is to gain clarity on a few vestiges of old thoughts I still struggle to fit into my reformed brain. I'll post those ? in other threads.

I hope I've found the right place for clarity.
    Brian

2. lynnie

lynnie Puritan Board Senior

Have you read " A Different Gospel" by D R McConnell?