Household Principle

Status
Not open for further replies.

JWesley

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi y'all!

So I'm a student, and I'm in the process of formulating my beliefs on Credo vs. Paedo baptism. I've been raised (and baptized) as a Presbyterian, but I truly want to do justice to the truths in the Scriptures.

How do people on the Credo side of the discussion answer the claim that while there may or may not have been infants in any of the households that were baptized, the events still signal a continuity in the principle of familial unity and that should be respected in our administration of the sacrament?

Grace and peace,

Hi John!

There are a lot of very smart people on the Puritanboard, much smarter than myself. I am sure they will do a better job of explaining things, but I will try to answer your question as best as I can from my own limited understanding.

First I would point out (and I think many Paedo-Baptists would agree) that the gospel both divides and unifies. I think it is a blessing when an entire family confesses and believes upon Christ as their savior. But I also recognize that many families will be divided by the gospel, as Christ himself seems to hint at:

Luke 12:49-53 (NASB)
49 "I have come to cast fire upon the earth; and how I wish it were already kindled!
50 "But I have a baptism to undergo, and how distressed I am until it is accomplished!
51 "Do you suppose that I came to grant peace on earth? I tell you, no, but rather division;
52 for from now on five members in one household will be divided, three against two and two against three.
53 "They will be divided, father against son and son against father, mother against daughter and daughter against mother, mother-in-law against daughter-in-law and daughter-in-law against mother-in-law."