Question about covenant theology

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fogetaboutit

Puritan Board Freshman
I've been looking into covenant theology lately and I have a few questions regarding the CredoBaptist vs PaedoBaptist interpretations.

I'm a novice at this and I would like to have some clarifications.

- Was there always a set covenant community (visible congragation). By this I mean was there a covenant community prior to Abraham? Did the descendants of Seth formed a covenantal community as opposed the the descendants of Cain? How about after the flood until Abraham?

- In the New Testament we see that the New Testament "Chruch" is the continuity of the Abrahamic Covenant community. If baptism replaces circumcision as a seal of this covenant, at what time did the switch occur? At the begining of John's ministry or only after Christ resurection? Is the Baptism of John the same as the one Peter referred to in Acts 2:38-39? If there is a difference, what did the Baptism of John represent as opposed to the baptism administered by the Apostles after the resurection of Christ? If there's no difference does it mean the administration of the New Testament replaced the Old prior to Christ's death and resurection?

- Am I right when I say that the CredoBaptist interpretation is that only the elects (or confirmed believers) should be considered as part of the New Testament covenant community and receive the physical seal of baptism? If so does this mean they do not believe in the concept of a visible and invisible church? If so how do you interpret the passages that refer to people being cut of from the covenant if you hold to a calvinistic soteriology? how do you view the familly of believers in light of this fact? Did the headship of the familly changed with the New Testament administration of the CoG?