Talbot School of Theology

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArmyChaplain

Puritan Board Freshman
I am considering attending Talbot for my M.Div (or Southern Baptist Theological) and wanted to know if anyone knows how they are doctrinally, academically, faculty wise, seminary overall, etc.?

Talbot is a hotbed of dispensationalism. It is very broadly evangelical. I would say that they are faithful to the scriptures, but watered down in theology. Reformed doctrines are not going to be taught there. Their view of the cross, and confessionalism, and the covenants are going to be more broad and diverse, instead of necessarily faithful.

Talbot is dispensationalist, but not a hotbed of dispensationalism the way Dallas is. Talbot is solidly evidentialist.

I graduated from Talbot with my M.Div in 1994. Yes, Talbot is, officially, a dispensationalist school, but the subject was never brought up in any of the courses I took there - not even in the theology courses. Dr. Robert Saucy, who will be 82 on May 1 and still teaches about 2/3 time (he has taught there since 1961), is a leader in the "progressive dispensationalism" movement (which gives up some theological ground to the Reformed). I spent about 12 years proctoring courses in the self-study tape (now CD) courses that students can take and, ironically, many of the courses are taught by solidly Reformed guys. Alan Gomes, who is Professor of Historical Theology, has Reformed leanings, I believe - he edited the re-issue of Shedd's systematic theology. So, yes: the school (founded in 1952 as Talbot Theological Seminary, by the way) is broadly evangelical, but it has some "Reformed flavoring," if you will - it is certainly NOT a hot bed of dispensationalism (though it probably was so through the 1950s and 1960s). Also, the school has an excellent library (in which I've been prowling since about 1984), which it shares with Biola University (which Talbot is part of). Hope this helps.