Would someone please explain OT indwelling of Holy Spirit

Status
Not open for further replies.

arielann81

Puritan Board Freshman
Ok so I have been reading around the forum and came across the term dispensationalism and although I've heard it mentioned did not know much about it. So I kept reading and it seems there is many issues that separate it from covenant theology. I did some more research and found this chart that shows the major differences.
Dispensationalism vs. Covenant Theology Chart

This was helpful and I fall on the covenant side on almost every point. It's when I came to point 22 on the covenant side that said: The Holy Spirit has indwelt believers in all ages, especially in the present N. T. era, and will not be withdrawn. that I had questions. How did that work in the OT? I'll admit I'm a newb but please explain or point me in the right direction. It seems there is a lot said on the different points and am worried I will be researching or reading forums forever... lol The only other issues I had were points 25 and 27 about uses of the law and all the amil, premill stuff which I still have to do research on.

Any help? :) Thanks in advance

Ps.51:11 "Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me."

The nature of regeneration (the spiritual revival of a dead soul) makes the work of Holy Spirit indispensible in all ages.

Ezk.37:1-5 "The hand of the LORD was upon me, and carried me out in the spirit of the LORD, and set me down in the midst of the valley which was full of bones, and caused me to pass by them round about: and, behold, there were very many in the open valley; and, lo, they were very dry. And he said unto me, Son of man, can these bones live? And I answered, O Lord GOD, thou knowest. Again he said unto me, Prophesy upon these bones, and say unto them, O ye dry bones, hear the word of the LORD. Thus saith the Lord GOD unto these bones; Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and ye shall live:"