-

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally posted by tcalbrecht
Originally posted by BrianBowman

Linux on a Dell laptop. Best of both worlds, and a whole lot more. :lol:

... really?, like what?

Well, for one thing it does just about anything you would want to do with a Windows PC or Mac, and I haven't spent a dime on software. Everything I have on it is open source.

Fixes to problems found in software are available in days, not weeks or months. It runs on any hardware I care to buy, so I'm not beholden to Steve Jobs. Apple hardware tends to be overpriced for the comparable performance.

... have you checked out the latest announcements from Apple? Peformance per $$ on the new Intel Core Duo systems is not much of an issue. For what it's worth, I've been a professional Software Developer doing heavy, "geek-friendly" OS-level stuff for 22.5 years now. The Open Source "revolution" is cool. Linux is cool, etc., but there is just too much software that I want which does not run in the Linux world, be the developers of this software cannot produce it for free (sometimes you get what you pay for :)).

[Edited on 1-14-2006 by BrianBowman]

Originally posted by joshua
I guess my thinking goes like this: I can store up to 7500 songs on it. Also, I can store documents, pics, videos, etc. So, with that in mind, it's as if I'd have my documents, videos, music, sermons, pics on my person at all times (excepting the shower, etc.). I'll never have THAT many songs...so I'll have room for other things...

Using any kind of Ipod or MP3 device for document storage is a very expensive and non-versitile solution, in my opinion. You can get small (Cruzer mini, etc) memory sticks/drives for almost nothing now. In fact, if you don't need it in your pocket (i.e. a bag will work), you can carry around an entire USB drive (maybe 4"x6") that is 160GB for like $50 for both the drive and case.

Hey, the shower doesn't have to be off limits!