A Bit of Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

FrozenChosen

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm a freshman at college, and my second semester is bumping along quite well so far, and I'm a History major.

"And?" you might be asking yourself.

I seem to have been bitten by the church history bug, so I was wondering if any of you had any suggestions of an accurate church history book (series if it's not a ton of volumes) that you might direct me towards.

Thanks!

A History of the Christian Church by Williston Walker
A History of Christianity by Kenneth Scott Latourette (2 Volumes)

Both are pretty reliable and readable.

Also some multivolume sets by Merle d'Aubigne are good reading too:
History of the Reformation of the Sixteenth Century
The Reformation in England

There is more by him but I can't remember the titles right now. Others on the Board will know.

[Edited on 1-17-2004 by puritansailor]

Hey, I'm a Freshman at the University of North Alabama. I have a few friends at Auburn.

On the history book I like Introduction to the History of Christianity edited by Dr. Tim Dowley. It is published by Fortress press.

I have to say that even though I love church history I usually get what little history I know from the works of the people that where there.

I prefer old books, but new books about old people aren't too bad.:D

I'm a freshmen as well, though not a history major. Why not use one of the complete church history sets from either Sheldon or Schaff? Or would that be too general? I'm reading Sheldon's, though I probably should have bought Schaff's, and it is a good set (5 books, only 40$). Although, on topics of interest I need to suplement other materials dealing with specifics.

Rembrandt

Schaff's 8-vol work is excellent but it stops circa 1875. For what it covers it can't be beat.