A Marching Band Discernment Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

TaylorOtwell

Puritan Board Junior
Hello all,

For the past three years at the university, I have been a drummer in the marching band. On the field, the band usually plays movie score type music, "Robin Hood", "King Kong", "Zorro", etc. have been past performances.

However, in the stands, sometimes we play "classic rock" songs such as "Born to be wild", "Jungle Boogie", "Devil had a blue dress", "We will rock you", etc.

My question is, is it becoming of a godly Christian to be in this marching band? The musical quality of the players is exceptional, it is a talented band. But I know the lyrics to these songs are not Biblical and Christ honoring.

I enjoy perfecting the drumline music, and to hear all the drummers play in unison.

What do you think?

All feedback appreciated.

Taylor

As an alumni of this band, I can attest that the talent is exceptional. Do you have a scholarship? I personally found my time at Tech to be very fulfilling and did not have a problem with the music, but if God has convicted your conscience about the issue, perhaps you should quit the band as soon as you fulfill your current obligations (say, like in December). Or perhaps, you might also just stick it out for the whole year and then next year, only sign up for band in the Spring during Concert Season and skip the football experience. Whatever you do, make sure you fulfill your current obligation and don't quit weeks before the beginning of school, talk to Mr. Cooper and let him know your concerns in private and why you are doing what you are doing. He is a good man and will understand (I think) as long as you don't throw a curve ball at him weeks before the first game while he has probably already put his show together for the year. Let us know what you decide. BTW, Were you there for the Cirque Du Soliel Show? It was flat out awesome.

Last edited: