A modernized KJV version

Status
Not open for further replies.
Most obviously from the sample, the removal of "thee" and "ye", replaced by modern pronouns. In 40:2 "Speak ye comfortably..." becomes "Speak lovingly..." That would presumably make the KJV more accessible. It is an interesting marketing choice to make it a Children's Bible, when it might serve a wider purpose. Presumably the rationale is that the full strength KJV is better (for example preserving distinctions between singular and plural 2nd person forms).

That is simply KJV only propaganda with no foundation in reality. I assure you the NKJV is translated from the TR.

I could be misinformed, but does not the NKJV make use of the Alexandrian texts? For the OT, the Dead Sea Scrolls were also made use of.

I am a novice here, so any correction or input would certainly be appreciated.

I could be misinformed, but does not the NKJV make use of the Alexandrian texts? For the OT, the Dead Sea Scrolls were also made use of.

I am a novice here, so any correction or input would certainly be appreciated.
Here is Michael Marlowe's write up on the NKJV in his 'Bible Researcher'

Anyways, back to the OP and away from yet another derailing over this translation vs that translation. I talked to Dr. Beeke about an hour ago. We discussed a lot so I am trying to remember specifics on this. He said much of the text is the same. He said this is a great way to ease someone into the KJV. Also, there aren't that many copies left and it won't be reprinted.

It is an interesting marketing choice to make it a Children's Bible, when it might serve a wider purpose.

I agree with Dr. Duguid—this could very well serve a wider purpose. When I read the sample I do not think of it as a children's version but simply a really good translation.

I’m curious as to why this would be any better than simply using the NKJV.