A Patristic Linkstorm (My reviews and guide to the early fathers)

Status
Not open for further replies.

RamistThomist

Puritanboard Clerk
I've spent the past decade reading the fathers and the leading monographs on them. I am not an expert, but I have a general idea of what they say. I am updating this list, so I will both link to it and list the key works.

When people ask, "Where should I start?" Maybe this can help. This list focuses more on the Eastern fathers simply because I've read them more.

https://tentsofshem.wordpress.com/2018/12/11/a-patristic-linkstorm/

Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers Set

Irenaeus, Against Heresies. Bailey links to this edition. I understand that AH is hard to read through, but books III-V are just too important to condense. However, it is very difficult to find an accessible edition, so I will go with that version.

Athanasius, Contra Arianos. Everyone links to On the Incarnation. I admit it is important, but it’s not that important and it is nowhere near as good as CA. Unfortunately, you have to go to the Schaff edition to find an accessible version.

Origen. On First Principles. Yes, you have to be careful reading Origen, but he is just too important to dismiss. I am aware of the 5th Council’s anathemas, but they aren’t part of the council itself (and are morally and historically suspect). Furthermore, it’s hard to imagine a Gregory or a Maximus without an Origen.

Hilary of Poitiers, On the Trinity. A so-called “Western” take on the Trinity before the Augustinian revolution. This volume is expensive, but you can find the Schaff edition online somewhere.

Gregory of Nyssa, Against Eunomius.

Popular Patristics Paperbacks

Gregory of Nazianzus. On God and Christ. Read this before anything else.

Gregory of Nazianzus. Festal Orations.

Gregory of Nazianzus. On God and Man.

Irenaeus, On the Apostolic Preaching.

John Chrysostom, Six Books on the Priesthood.