America and the Imperial System of Measurement

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a machinist by trade. I convert everything to inches for the purpose of programming/ dimensioning.

But the one thing I like about the metric system, is that you rarely see fractional measurements. Everything is in decimal form.

I’ll admit it. I like the imperial system.
It’s much easier for building. You can divide by 2, 3, 4, etc in your head. Metric you’ll end up with some weird decimal and need to bust out a calculator.

Same reason there are 360 degrees in a circle and not 100.

Last edited:
It’s much easier for building. You can divide by 2, 3, 4, etc in your head. Metric you’ll end up with some weird decimal and need to bust out a calculator.

Same reason there at 360 degrees in a circle and not 100.
Interesting. I like science and engineering and get why scientists and engineers much prefer metric. During normal conversation the metric terms sound so antiseptic, less organic. I am just a granola head at heart. Even though “stone” is hardly heard in US English, it beats “kilo” or “kilogram” for the communications between living beings.

By the way, if anyone uses Linux, there is an incredible shell program called "units" that will convert pretty much anything (database of about 3,700 units):

VirtualBoxVM_qi9FYQVDJ8.png

Isn't 1000 pounds a short ton and 2000 pounds a ton or a long ton?

Also it appears to me that the UK uses a lot of non-metric units too commonly, like miles and stones.

This is what Washington was really trying to free America from:
  • 1 mite = 1/8 penny
  • 1 farthing = 1/4 penny
  • 2 farthings = 1 halfpenny
  • 2 halfpence = 1 penny (or a ‘copper')
  • 2 pence = 1 tuppence or a half-groat
  • 3 pence = 1 thruppence
  • 4 pence = 1 groat
  • 6 pence = 1 sixpence (a ‘tanner')
  • 12 pence = 1 shilling (a bob)
  • 2 shillings = 1 florin ( a ‘two bob bit')
  • 2 shillings and 6 pence = 1 half crown
  • 5 shillings = 1 Crown
  • 20 shillings = 1 pound