Answers in Genesis responds to Modern Reformation Magazine

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not a proponent of Old-Earth Creationism, but I am a proponent of consistency and turthfulness. As such, I find this statement by Answers in Genesis to be a probable mistatement of the position of Old Earth proponents and these geologists:

Instead, these geologists believe that science interprets Scripture.

This is certainly not what Old-Earth proponents or these geologists would contend, nor, when considering their position, is it the result. Statements like this detract from real discussion and devolve the exchange, in one sense or another, into an exercise in accusation.

Whether this is the logical conclusion of their argument or not, I doubt that these geologists would agree with this statement. Moreover, if one considers their argument; that specific revelation is silent on the age of the Earth and, therefore, general revelation is an ample and reliable source, then the assertion falls apart.

Again, not a proponent of the system, but mischaracterizing others is a quick path to hitting a brick wall.

I'm not a proponent of Old-Earth Creationism, but I am a proponent of consistency and turthfulness. As such, I find this statement by Answers in Genesis to be a probable mistatement of the position of Old Earth proponents and these geologists:

This is certainly not what Old-Earth proponents or these geologists would contend, nor, when considering their position, is it the result. Statements like this detract from real discussion and devolve the exchange, in one sense or another, into an exercise in accusation.

Whether this is the logical conclusion of their argument or not, I doubt that these geologists would agree with this statement. Moreover, if one considers their argument; that specific revelation is silent on the age of the Earth and, therefore, general revelation is an ample and reliable source, then the assertion falls apart.