Any Greek Scholars Out There?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blhowes

Puritan Board Professor
I'm studying Romans 11. I went through and identified the questions that are asked in the chapter as a way of dividing up the chapter into different sections. When I did this and started trying to understand exactly what each question was asking and why, I noticed the Greek word changed and I was wondering if anybody could tell me why? Do the words have different meanings that would cause them to be used for different reasons?

[size=18:0ce3d0cfcd]Cast Away[/size:0ce3d0cfcd]
The first word, for cast away, is the Greek word [font=symbol:0ce3d0cfcd]apotheomai[/font:0ce3d0cfcd] or [font=symbol:0ce3d0cfcd]apothomai[/font:0ce3d0cfcd], as used in Romans 11:1. In Romans 11:15, a different word ([font=symbol:0ce3d0cfcd]apobole[/font:0ce3d0cfcd]) is used.

Rom 11:1 I say then, Hath God [b:0ce3d0cfcd]cast away (683)[/b:0ce3d0cfcd] his people?
Rom 11:15 For if the [b:0ce3d0cfcd]casting away (580)[/b:0ce3d0cfcd] of them be the reconciling of the world,

[size=18:0ce3d0cfcd]Fall[/size:0ce3d0cfcd]
The second word, for fall, is the Greek word [font=symbol:0ce3d0cfcd]apotheomai[/font:0ce3d0cfcd] or [font=symbol:0ce3d0cfcd]apothomai[/font:0ce3d0cfcd] and as used in Romans 11:11. In Romans 11:12, a different word ([font=symbol:0ce3d0cfcd]paraptoma[/font:0ce3d0cfcd]) is used.

Rom 11:11 I say then, Have they stumbled that they should [b:0ce3d0cfcd]fall (4098)[/b:0ce3d0cfcd]?
Rom 11:12 Now if the [b:0ce3d0cfcd]fall (3900)[/b:0ce3d0cfcd] of them be the riches of the world,

In both cases (cast away and fall), are two totally different words used and, if so, when would one form be used instead of the other (taking into account the different parts of speech)? Does each word convey subtle
differences of meaning?

Thanks,
Bob

[b:0ce3d0cfcd]683[/b:0ce3d0cfcd] [font=symbol:0ce3d0cfcd]apotheomai[/font:0ce3d0cfcd]
Thayer Definition:
1) to thrust away, push away, repel