Any Sermon Ideas for Reformation Sunday?

Status
Not open for further replies.

C. M. Sheffield

Puritan Board Graduate
I was wondering how many of you pastors would be giving a special sermon for Reformation Sunday. I plan on preaching on the Reformation in the morning service and then we're having a Reformation Hymn sing that night.

However, I'm not very good at putting together topical or thematic sermons. And I'm still vacillating between sermon ideas. That of course is eating into my preparation time! So, what are some of the things that you all are doing or have done in the past. There are probably countless ways to skin this cat and I'd be interested in hearing them.

I am preaching on 2 Chron 34 in the morning, and interviewing Martin Luther for the childrens message.

I always preach on the doctrine of justification by faith alone. Often I will use an historical personality tied to Reformation as an illustration during the introduction. In the past I have used Martin Luther, John Knox, John Calvin, Patrick Hamilton, etc.

I would recommend preaching on justification, because you will be shocked at how many folks can sit through years of preaching and still not have a firm grasp on the doctrine. I remember hearing some on-the-street surveys conducted by the White Horse Inn where folks who should know better were asked about justification or the theme of the book of Galatians and could not give a biblical answer.

Preaching on a text from Romans 3 or 4 or Philippians 3 might be an option.

I would recommend preaching on justification, because you will be shocked at how many folks can sit through years of preaching and still not have a firm grasp on the doctrine.

Don't I know it! And your point is well taken. I routinely encounter aberrant views of justification in conversation with my people. And I think, "I must speak more on justification by faith!"