Are Our Songs Orthodox Worship Songs? How can We Worship Well

Status
Not open for further replies.

sgemmen9

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi,

I'm a pastor in my first two years of ministry my church. As a newcomer and new pastor I'm learning what Biblical worship is and trying to improve our church. I know new pastors have the tendency to make rash decisions that hurt others in worship so I've tread very lightly.

We're a rural Reformed Church, very conservative based on the denominational state. Our members are mostly older, they we have many younger visitors and few younger families. All our hymns are from the "Sing to the Lord Hymnal." (Google it and you should a PDF of the song index).

I want to explain two things I'm seeing and get some feedback from some of you. (Keep in mind I'm not a musical expert here either).
The first thing I'm seeing, and this is mostly my opinion, is that I'd say our church is a bit odd or perhaps out of date. (I don't mean by any means that my ideal is some kind of praise band church or that we need better lighting, etc....) When I say "out of date," I mean, for example, sometimes the organ is played on the songs that might better on the piano. Or a song was written a certain way and it is played a way that is disjointed. When some songs typically flow in other churches, our church will sing it staccato.

We also have songs that are careless in their theology. Some songs are nationalistic. Some songs are arminian. Some aren't necessarily unorthodox but they're more traditional hymns that you might see in a baptist church as opposed to a reformed church. Some still are, again, not unorthodox but put the doctrine of man before the doctrine God. Some are less christological, some perhaps OK in theology but written by not so faithful authors.