Arminianism refutation

Status
Not open for further replies.

monoergon

Puritan Board Freshman
Greetings. I am new to reformed theology and I am currently writing a refutation to a series of arminian arguments.
I came about this one argument and need some assistance in writing a refutation to it. It is originally from a brazilian arminian author.
This is the argument (http://www.jesusvoltara.com.br/ados/pag11.htm) :

"1 Cor. 10:12 Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.
My brethren, the doctrine of predestination means that no one needs to repent because everyone's case[or lives] is already pre-established. Then why did Paul, full of the Holy Spirit, proclaim that all shall[or must] repent? Also, do you think that it is an unnecessary worry of Paul to tell them to `take heed` so they would not fall in their spiritual lives if the destiny of all is already traced[or established]?"

Any help will be appreciated.

Hi Nathan! :) What a great project - refuting Arminianism. I would love to see your arguments when you're done. What an edifying and worthwhile work!

Oh no! That link was... Spanish? Portugese? Couldn't read it...

But my take: The doctrine of predestination does not mean that no one needs to repent. That's like claiming that since we are predestined, Christ didn't need to come die on a cross for us. Not at all. God chooses a means with which He carries out his foreordained purposes.