Ashamed of Reformation Theology?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArminianOnceWas

Puritan Board Freshman
I am a pastor in a Wesleyan background who began to come to know the Doctrines of Grace over the last ten years and more in-depth in the last five years. I am working to exit my current denomination and connect with a Reformed body for the sake of ministry.

However I am finding what I perceive to be an issue, and perhaps as newcomer to Reformed ecclesiastical bodies my vision is skewed. But, within the denominations that I am looking and making connection that are historically Reformed, I am finding that there is not much (if any) passion regarding these doctrines, and I get the *feeling* that they would rather appeal to be broadly evangelical rather than isolate themselves by projecting the potentially offensive Calvinistic doctrines.

Just to clarify, I am not speaking in regard to the bodies that have been considered liberal for many years such as the PCUSA, RCA and CRC. I am referring to Reformed bodies that hold a high view of Scripture. I do not want to name any names and potentially break any rules of this board or be a source of division.

I suppose, I am needing my perspective or translation corrected here, or perhaps maybe the experience that you men have had could at least somewhat validate my perceived interpretation of what I am seeing.

One such example, one pastor said he refuses to teaching anything uniquely Calvinistic on Sunday mornings when the entire crowd is there, he will only do it in very small groups of people who are committed to attend on weeknights. Another pastor of a growing church seemed concerned that if he taught the doctrines that he would alienate 50% of his church. One seminary told me that they are trying to appeal to a broad base of Christians and seemed to want to temper my enthusiasm of going there to learn strong Reformed theology.