Beans and Rice Recipes Anyone?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBaldwin

Puritan Board Post-Graduate
So I am new to the beans and rice world, and I would love to learn how some of you folks cook them. I am currently soaking pinto beans, and I don't know how to spice them up.

Grandmother taught me to use some chopped garlic (maybe two or three cloves depending on your taste), salt pork (maybe four or five pieces sliced up into strips), jalapenos ( one or two halved and then sliced into small strips depending on your taste for hotness), also some lard maybe two tablespoons. I was raised on this. YUMM YUMM GOOD!!!

Here is our basic beans and rice recipe. We normally use Red beans but it works well with any dried bean. It even makes Great Yankee beans edible.

Sort and soak the beans overnight. Make sure and use more water than you think you will need.

Ingredients:
Beans
Andouille or other cased sausage
Onion
Bell Pepper
Celery
Garlic
Salt
Pepper
Tony Chachere's Seasoning
Cayenne pepper
Beer
Salt
Pepper
Chopped green onions tops and all
File'

Prep:
Chop one large white onion
Chop one large bell pepper
Chop two stalks celery
Slice sausage into discs about 1/14 inch thick

Cooking:
Heat some bacon grease in a heavy skillet
Add onion, bell pepper and celery and one or two pressed garlic cloves to hot grease.
Saute' until the onions are about half clear
(Enjoy one of the best aromas every created in a kitchen!)
Add the sausage and cook until the sausage begins to curl on the casings (about five minutes).
Remove from heat.