Being happy at the fall of others

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pergamum

Ordinary Guy (TM)
Is it always bad to be happy when an evil person falls?

Or to wish an evil person well?

Is it always a sin to think, "I hope they die."

Does this extend to the death of dictators and false teachers and persecutors?

Some historical examples: Hitler, Stalin, Pol Pot, Osama, King Eglun, Goliath, Haman?

Does this extend to the death of dictators and false teachers and persecutors?

Some historical examples: Hitler, Stalin, Pol Pot, Osama, King Eglun, Goliath, Haman?
Why not pray aright that God's will be such that the suffering brought about by these men be ended according to the will of God? We can rightfully rejoice that the suffering these men brought upon others is now ended by their death, but to be happy about the death of any human being made in the image of God does not seem appropriate.

I was a soldier in Vietnam, just as were those that lawfully hunted down and killed Osama bin Laden. I did my duty and my conscience was clear that the ending of the lives of my enemy was lawful. Was I happy to see the dead bodies of young men, some of whom had pictures of family in their pockets?

May it never be. Rather I was grieved and remain so to this day about the state of humanity that seems to have no end to devising evils that often requires others to mete out the ultimate act of lawful justice.