Bible commentary

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timobe

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello everyone,

I want to buy a full Bible commentary and I'd appreciate to have help from you all. I checked a site called "bestcommentaries" and that showed me a look around.

In fact, I'm a student of theology and I'm interested in languages, exegetic, good establishment of the text,... For example, I don't like NICOT because it doesn't have any establishment of the text... And I like to compare the versions LXX-Vulgate-MassoreticText for the OT and the manuscripts for the NT.

I know WBC and found that they are good and technical but the textual notes are really short. Then, I know also AB and there, I've found great textual notes but the commentaries on the text are not so good (and the site "bestcommentaries" doesn't seem to like AB !). What would be the best combination according to you ?

Plus, I'm really hesitating between real books or informatics books... Because, for example WBC (full 60 volumes) is sold at 449$ right now ! It's less costly, practical,... But I like to have the books in hands tough...

Thanks for your advices !

Hi Timobe,

Often the advice here is to skip the commentary sets due to uneven quality/value of research and content. The counter-advice is to purchase 1 or 2 of the best individual commentaries for each particular book. These range from standalone works to individual volumes of a set.

Ligonier has a list of recommended commentaries here: Top Commentaries on Every Book of the Bible by Nathan W. Bingham | Ligonier Ministries Blog

And our own Rev. Lane Keister (who has apparently read every commentary on the planet! :)) has several posts on his blog with his own recommendations, which may be accessed here: www.puritanboard.com/f78/one-two-best-commentaries-each-book-bible-in my opinion-28056/

Calvin, Henry, Poole, etc. are typically the exceptions to that advice.

Grace to you as you seek to know more of Christ through his precious Word.