Bible Study/Library Software

Status
Not open for further replies.

humble_soul

Puritan Board Freshman
I've spent time and money building up my printed library and have neglected the blessings of computer based Bible software for too long! I've been using web based Bible Study tools, but I find those somewhat lacking..

What is the best Bible/Library/Research software available today?

Price isn't the top factor. I am willing to spend more for quality.

I'm a power user and software engineer by trade. I'm willing to invest time and effort in learning the software.

The most important factors are (not in any particular order):

1) Extensible (i.e. the ability to add new works like commentaries, dictionaries, lexicons, and etc). I suppose this would require some kind of formatting on of the text. If the software could import these formats, that would be good enough.

2) Multiple Bible translation built-in or in a format the software can understand.

3) Mutliple extras already built-in (like the commentaries and other tools mentioned above in #1) or available.

4) An exportable format that other software can use so if the software is dropped for some reason I can move my library to another software!

Does this kind of software exist, or am I dreaming?

Thanks,
hs

[quote:5bd4093601][i:5bd4093601]Originally posted by humble_soul[/i:5bd4093601]
I've spent time and money building up my printed library and have neglected the blessings of computer based Bible software for too long! I've been using web based Bible Study tools, but I find those somewhat lacking..

What is the best Bible/Library/Research software available today?

Price isn't the top factor. I am willing to spend more for quality.

I'm a power user and software engineer by trade. I'm willing to invest time and effort in learning the software.

The most important factors are (not in any particular order):