Birmingham Theological Seminary vs. Christ Theological Seminary

Status
Not open for further replies.

t_thornton83

Puritan Board Freshman
I am currently an undergraduate student, however, both BTS and CTS allow undergrads to complete graduate credit towards a certificate that can later be transferred to a MA program after a student attains a baccalaureate degree. Both seminaries offer MAs in apologetics (though Birmingham does not yet offer the program in its entirety online); I was curious as to whether anyone on the board could offer some advice as to which program is better? I know that CTS has some theonomic leanings, and I've even heard that FV is gaining a foothold there (though it would seem that Michael Butler rejects it); nevertheless, the courses offered in apologetics/philosophy look top-notch. On the other hand, BTS is a member of ARTS, and I have also heard good things about their MA program; though it is not clear whether they take a strictly presuppositional approach. Other options are welcome also, but these are the two programs that seem to best fit not only my particular circumstances, but also my areas of interest. Thanks in advance for the help.

Question: what are your goals for going to seminary? Are you planning on pursuing a call in the Gospel ministry or are you interested in working specifically in the field of apologetics? Or do you have something else in mind?

If by Christ Theological Seminary you mean the RPCUS seminary, then I would highly FV influence, as the RPCUS has come out very strong against these doctrines from the beginning.

I heard CTS is not too great nor well thpught out. I got that from someone on here...i forgot who. I am sure you'll find him if you type in Christ Theological seminary on the board.