Career choice guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Parmenas

Puritan Board Freshman
I am a sophomore in high school, and my school year ends next week. I have no idea what career I want to pursue. I know I ought to trust in God's providence, but it still worries me so.

My main interests or passions are theology and history, but I have not explored any "practical" fields of study, so I am still open to a wide variety of career paths. Overall, I wish to find a career in which I will glorify God in an efficient application of my abilities, one which I will enjoy, and one in which I can make a decent living.

I would be most thankful for any godly counsel or advice. I ask you all to pray for me at this time, that God may grant me guidance and discernment in this crucial decision. Thank you.

I don't claim to be an expert but here are some practical books that might help:
1. Re finding the will of God, a very solid book is Decision Making and the Will of God, by Garry Friesen
2. Re careers a leading guide is What Colour is Your Parachute? : A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers

All the best. May God guide you.

I don't claim to be an expert but here are some practical books that might help:
1. Re finding the will of God, a very solid book is Decision Making and the Will of God, by Garry Friesen
2. Re careers a leading guide is What Colour is Your Parachute? : A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers

All the best. May God guide you.

Thank you for the resources!

Hello friend!
Have you considered a sort of short term mission trip or volunteering in a third world country (6 months)? It is very good before going into school to see the world in a real sense and help to open your eyes.

May the Lord direct you and may you enjoy His leading