Commentary on The Psalms- Plumer or Spurgeon? Or Maybe Both?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian R.

Puritan Board Freshman
Anxious to dive deeper into the Psalms I've determined to purchase either Plumer's Commentary or Spurgeon's Treasury of David. I have very little knowledge of either work, but I've read some great reviews.

Do any of you have any feedback regarding these two works? As always, I really value your input. Thanks so much.

I got Plumer's work for free at T4G last week and I have been loving it. Can't say that I have read Spurgeon's treasury though so I cannot compare the two. From what I have heard/seen though, Plumer's seems to be much more extensive.

I find Plumer helpful in the practical section but Spurgeon's collection of Puritan views on a text is great. They both quote Hengstenberg which is satisfying to me.

I don't have Plumer, but I've got my wife's grandfather's 3-vol. set of The Treasury of David. It is excellent.

That being said, I may have to save up some pennies toward Plumer -- it looks great!

I haven't read Plummer, but I have perused my 3 - vol. treasury of David and I thoroughly enjoy it.

Plumer is excellent for the interpretation of the text and offering help on the range of opinions on it; he also has expository comment at the end of each psalm which adds practical value. Spurgeon is good for devotions rather than interpretation; but his excellent collection of quotations adds interpretative and practical value.

A number of years ago I went through the Psalms and made special use of Plumer, and found a whole section missing; this was an earlier Banner of Truth reprint. It could have been a one off, though. Thankfully a helpful Christian brother scanned the pages for me. This was before googlebooks or archive.

Here are some evaluations of both works from various sources that might be helpful to you in making a decision:

Charles Spurgeon