Creating Greek Ligature Chart in Excel - For Use In Lexi-Logos - Worth the Effort?

Status
Not open for further replies.

davejonescue

Puritan Board Junior
Hello all. Though I want to fight it, not so much for the task, but what presently seems "out of range" for me, I have been tinkering with the idea of creating some sort of chart or software that would automatically convert ligatures into the Greek that is currently used in theological literature. Since I am not a software engineer, and dont have much money, creating the software now seems presently impossible. But, what I can do, is create a non-editable Excel chart, using the font and chart found here, so that, one can look up the ligature, then copy the utf conversion to either put into the text, or into Lexi-Logos to complete a text. It is not too tiresome of a project, and will probably be an ongoing effort as more ligatures are found. But does this seem worth the effort? If anything, it may prove useful for someone who would want to develop an open-source PopChart type thing for these, where you could select the ligature and automatically copy the conversion; but even an Excel chart seems beneficial until someone learns them by rote.
ligature chart.jpg

As someone who dabbles in old writings, languages, and church history, I would occasionally find something like that quite useful. But I wouldn't presume to push for someone to make the effort to do so on such a limited and self-centered basis.

As someone who dabbles in old writings, languages, and church history, I would occasionally find something like that quite useful. But I wouldn't presume to push for someone to make the effort to do so on such a limited and self-centered basis.