Diet and nutrition

Status
Not open for further replies.

hermanchauw

Puritan Board Freshman
Any sound Christian nutritionists here?

What do you think of Paleo Diet and other non-conventional diets like Metabolic Typing, Atkins etc?

What do you think of vegetarianism?

What do you think of carbohydrates and grains?

Thanks.

I'm no nutritionist, but I studied on them a little bit...

No to vegetarianism - I believe it lacks many key nutrients that meat can otherwise produce. Carbs are only good after a workout - too much of it -> turns into fat. And from what I heard, complex carbs are the best option - I'm now eating oatmeal for breakfast and trying to dump white bread, etc. and only eat rice sparingly.

Diets like the Atkins diet are fad diets and only work as long as you are on them. Generally diets that work by cutting out carbs are not good for you. The body needs carbs for energy, and if you starve it of them for too long the body will start to break down your fat into ketones for energy (good) which is accompanied by terrible bad breath!

As soon as you start eating carbs again your body will lap them up and pile the fat back on, often worse than it was to begin with.

Having said that, moderate carb reduction is fine.

Vegetarianism is ok as long as you get a good variety of veg. Pulses are you only real source of protein, so you'd have to make sure you eat plenty of things like beans, lentils etc. Vegan diets are not so good as you wouldn't be able to eat fish (such as tuna), which is great as a protein and healthy fat source.

The only thing that will get the fat off permanently is lifestyle change, not a fad diet.

For me, just counting the calories has worked well. I eat anything, just not too much. Exercise didn't help until I changed my diet.

And I didn't do any fancy counting, I just made some rough estimates. It sounds more difficult than it is.