Do we need another reformation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ajay

Puritan Board Freshman
Everywhere people are celebrating 500th years of reformation. My friend asked me , Do we need another reformation? I also want to ask my PB friends, Really what are the achievements of the 16th century Protestant reformation? Why we need another reformation?. Sorry if I post in wrong place.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I believe our greatest need is revival not reformation. It’s not that we don’t have access to the truth today it’s that we’re not interested in it.
we do not read the Bible.
We do not fellowship.
We do not pray.
We do not conduct discipleship programs.
We do not evangelize.
We do not practice hospitality.
Very few ministers know how to preach.
Very few ministers know how to shepherd the flock even worse many have no desire to shepherd the flock.

We have an embarrassment of riches at our fingertips today. I am just a stupid house painter who doesn’t know how to spell or punctuate and yet I have more theological resources on my iPhone and iPad then Calvin and Luther could’ve ever dreamed possible and The resources are instantaneous I don’t even have to flip a page I just talk to my iPhone and it finds the info for me. I’m not even typing this post I’m just talking to my phone.

We don’t need reformation we need revival we need to fall on our faces and cry out to God for ourselves for our children for our churches and for our nation and repent of our failure to use the resources he has laid at our feet.

Last edited:
I agree with Bill. It is not an issue of 'another reformation', but an issue of sticking to what the reformed held dear.

I agree; but if we do need another Reformation it will not be led by men who find it acceptable to force images on people in places of worship or go out on the links and play a round on Lord's Day afternoons.