Do you keep a diary/journal? What do you write?

Status
Not open for further replies.

matthew11v25

Puritan Board Sophomore
Prompted by Andrew's thread: "How to write a spiritual..."

I have always struggled to write a spiritual diary or a diary of any type. People always say that they are blessed them. I would like to get better at it but the discipline has been hard to maintain.

FOR THOSE THAT HAVE A DIARY:

what do you write?

what format do you use?

how are you blessed by it?

(i.e. tell us about it, how you incorporate it into your journey)

FOR THOSE THAT DONT:

why dont you use one?

I've been keeping a journal, (sadly, not regularly), since I was 14 years old. I'm not very profound, so I've mainly written about things I did that day or week. Both things of significance and not.

I wish I could write a journal like that of Brainerd or Edwards... but my entries are more in the line of, "Today I flew to San Antonio, TX. Thankfully, the flight was mostly smooth, but unfortunately I had to sit next to this extremely large man, who not only took up the whole armrest and half of my seat, he also smelled of spoiled cabbage and a faint hint of old salami. And looks of annoyance and concern from myself, didn't discourage him from continually clearing his throat and sinuses and pushing the flight attendant call button throughout the whole flight."

Anyway, perhaps if I somehow get this book Andrew mentioned I can discover good ideas on keeping a more rewarding journal.