Does everyone have a conscience?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ABondSlaveofChristJesus

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm studying for a psychology final, and I´m to the section on personality disorders this is what it has to say(btw the author is an evangelical) ....

" The most troubling of these impulsive personality disorders is the antisocial personality disorder. The person (formerly called a sociopath or a psychopath) is typically a male whose lack of conscience becomes plain before the age of 15, as he begins to lie, steal, fight, or display unrestrained sexual behavior. About half of such children become antisocial adults--unable to keep a job, irresponsible as a spouse and parent, and assault or otherwise criminal. When the antisocial personality combines a keen intelligence with amorality, the result may be a charming and clever con artist--or worse."

"...Antisocial personalities feel little and fear little, and in extreme cases, the results can be horrifyingly tragic. Henry Le Lucas reports that at age 13 he had strangled a woman who refused to have sex with him. He at one time confessed to having bludgeoned, suffocated, stabbed, shot, or mutilated some 360 women, men and children during his 32 years of crime. During the last 6 years of his reign of terror, Lucas teamed with Elwood Toole, who reportedly slaughtered about 50 people whom he "didn't think was worth living anyhow." It ended when Lucas confessed to stabbing and dismembering his 15-year-old common-law wife, who was Toole's niece."

"The antisocial personality expresses little regret over violating others rights. "once I've done a crime, I just forget it," stated Lucas. Toole was equally matter-of-fact: "I think of killing like smoking a cigarette, like another habit"

"œ"some studies have detected the early signs of antisocial behavior in children as young as age 3 to 6"

It seems like these people are born with a lack of feeling and conscious.