Early Church Fathers & Co.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abd_Yesua_alMasih

Puritan Board Junior
Often in the Reformed Camp we start talking about Augustine and then suddenly make a theological leap forward to John Wycliffe (well that is what it seems to me sometimes). What other early church leaders held to something similar to the Doctrines of Grace - predestination in particular? Surely other early writers hinted at it etc... Did Pope Clement I? (I always wondered about his epistles but I do not know where to find copies of them anymore).

What about during the reign of the Roman Catholic Church? Were there any Saints or Clergy during that period between the Reformation and the Early Church which held effectivly to the Doctrines of Grace?

Fraser,

I'm not an expert in early Church history, but it's important to remember that the Reformation was a Recovery and a Restoration of pure Apostolic doctrine and practice as opposed to what the corrupted Roman Catholic Church had become, and not some new innovation as the RCC alleged.