Eating Healthy on a Very Small Budget

Status
Not open for further replies.
Some people may cut out fat and replace it with poor carb choices, leading to blood sugar spikes. It seems like making wise choices from all food groups is a better approach. Complex carbohydrates take longer to digest, many are high in fiber and do not adversely affect blood sugar.

Bryan, as others have suggested, a crock pot or slow cooker would be a good investment.

I am also a college student struggling to eat both cheaply and healthily, though I do have a kitchen full of utensils. I like to build one pot meals around bean and rice dishes and add whatever is on hand to spice it up.

I try to take advantage of sales on staples like beans, brown rice, canned vegetables etc. I also carry granola bars with me so I can get a bite between classes. I make coffee at home and bring it with me in a thermal cup and carry water also as opposed to buying it on campus.

Another suggestion if you are near grocery stores is to go on Saturday mornings when they often have vendors offering free samples of food. Our campus has some events that have snacks or even meals for attendees; many students frequent these especially for the free food!

Complex carbohydrates take longer to digest, many are high in fiber and do not adversely affect blood sugar.

Low carb eating means low NET carb eating, not complete avoidance of all carbs.

Net Carbs = Carbs - Fiber

The carbs in fiber are "trapped" in the fiber and pass through without affected blood sugar levels.

So, keep NET carbs low.

This does point out something that people don't know or recognize ... blood sugar increases with carb consumption only (or almost only).

Fat and protein do not affect blood sugar levels. (disclaimer ... if you eat a TON of protein, it will affect blood sugar a TINY amount).

That said, for the American Diabetes Association to be pushing carbs to people with blood sugar control issues is criminal.

The Cure for Diabetes