Ecclesiastes commentaries or sermon series

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seeking_Thy_Kingdom

Puritan Board Sophomore
What commentaries or sermon series would you recommend for a study on Ecclesiastes? I am not looking for something overly technical, but rather practical and experiential.

My wife and I studied Ecclesiastes 9:1-12 today. It was convicting. How often we forget that to live properly is to prepare to die well.

O, Lord, teach me to number my days.

As someone who has battled a lot with mental health over the years Ecclesiastes has made good sense to me. I came to appreciate the book in my Teens.

For practical and experiential, I would recommend the following resources: Ecclesiastes, by Phil Ryken; Ecclesiastes, by Douglas O'Donnell; Recovering Eden, by Zach Eswine; Living Life Backward, by David Gibson; and Ecclesiastes: Life in a Fallen World, by Benjamin Shaw. For older works, the ones suggested above fill the bill nicely.

I like Derek Kidner (not just the commentary but also The Wisdom of Proverbs, Job, and Ecclesiastes) and Herbert Leupold.

What commentaries or sermon series would you recommend for a study on Ecclesiastes? I am not looking for something overly technical, but rather practical and experiential.

This little 180 page commentary by a modern author might fit the bill. I read it cover-to-cover and enjoyed it.

Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries Volume 18
General Editor: Donald J. Wiseman
Ecclesiastes
An Introduction and Commentary
Michael A. Eaton

AUTHOR’S PREFACE