English Bible translations based on the majority text?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Logan, me saying "I doubt not the authenticity of it" was only in regards to MT and some TR guys rejecting or even doubting the legitimacy of it, since even within said camps, there is a variety of opinions. It was not intended to castigate those who hold to the CT position, as I do not doubt your sincerity or others here. As for CT "scholars", (Wasserman, Dan Wallace, Epp, Jan Krans, etc.) that's a different story.
I realise this might be taking us off topic, but would you be able to elaborate on your last sentence or even just point me in the right direction to look into on my own? I'm fairly new to this whole discussion and trying to make up my own mind.

I realise this might be taking us off topic, but would you be able to elaborate on your last sentence or even just point me in the right direction to look into on my own? I'm fairly new to this whole discussion and trying to make up my own mind.
It is not entirely off topic, but I will address it briefly. Many men who hold an esteemed position in the eyes of the textual criticism world are theological liberals, virgin birth deniers, agnostic, atheist, and woke. Now, one may say I'm simply poisoning the well (what most consider a fallacy); but I do believe it is a relevant thing to realize and consider.

“We do not have now – in any of our critical Greek texts or in any translations – exactly what the authors of the New Testament wrote. Even if we did, we would not know it. There are many, many places in which the text of the New Testament is uncertain.” - Dan Wallace

“In practice New Testament textual critics today tend to be Christians themselves, but not always. It does not matter, for the quality of their work does not depend on their faith but on their adherence to academic standards.” - Jan Krans