Ephesians 5.30 TR/CT questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Northern Crofter

Puritan Board Sophomore
I'll start by saying I don't know which forum this fits so please feel free to put it where it belongs, admin.

The sermon this past Lord's Day in our congregation was from Ephesians 5: "Husbands, Love Your Wives, Just as Christ Also Loved." What caught my attention as the text was being read (I believe from the NASB) was the difference in v.30 (from my Geneva). The TR seems to better follow Paul's reference (albeit in reverse order) to Genesis 2. I'm rather visual so I had to chart it out to see:
1661867622253.png
I am not an expert on textual issues or Greek/Hebrew - I switched to and prefer TR versions because it is what the men used who God used to create the confessional standards I adhere to (for example, most CT versions question the ending of Mark's Gospel, but verses from it are used 4 times in the WCF and 4 times in the LC as a proof text so they apparently believed it to be part of the Canon of the Scripture). But a few questions evolved in my head the past few days. I've had trouble separating them as they all seem to flow together: