Evangelicals and Catholics Together

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michael Doyle

Puritan Board Junior
For a church study through Hot Topics in the PCA, I am studying the ECT.

I have made many conclusions on this union. Here are a few as I see them.

In the introduction in this statement, it is declared over and over concerning the unity that Christ intends for His disciples Am I missing something here? Are those who hold to the doctrines of Romanism disciples of Christ? Can we then say Mormons are fellow disciples? Or JW`s?

Secondly; It is attributed that Protestants and Catholics are devoted to the same Christian mission, the gospel. Do the Catholics have the gospel? This does not sit well in my theological stomach.

These are not exact quotes but my paraphrasing, so you all understand, be sure that I am not attempting to embellish anything here, but look objectively.

Thirdly, and this is were my stomach begins to turn, in the We Affirm section, it reads thusly,
We affirm together that we are justified by grace through faith because of Christ. It would seem as though this is worded somewhat ambiguously to allow for room for an array of thought and positions to coexist. This seems awful to me. Am I wrong? Am I overlooking something here?

Fourthly Quote: Evangelicals and Catholics are brothers and sisters in Christ

Fifthly Quote: However imperfect our communion with one another, however deep our disagreements with one another, we recognize that there is but one church of Christ. Baloney!! Do not the catholics state those out side of "the church" let them be anathema! Yes they do.

Now, this goes on and on and on but for the sake of time, I feel this has been rightly presented in some of the more glaring statements.

Now lets look at some of the statements from the council of Trent for comparisons sake:

CHAPTER V.
On the necessity, in adults, of preparation for Justification, and whence it proceeds.