Expanded Second Edition: Psalm 96 A Theology of Praise - McMahon

Not open for further replies.

C. Matthew McMahon

Christian Preacher

Psalm 96: A Theology of Praise 2nd Edition by C. Matthew McMahon (now 290 Pages)

This work is an expanded theological look at the praise the church offers to God. In this second edition, the study has doubled in size from its original version.

God requires that his people have a theology of praise. Psalm 96 delivers to them the directives they need in order to praise God rightly. It is, in and of itself, a condensed theology of praise for the Church of Jesus Christ. God has called his people to praise him. Psalm 96 shows the church what should fill their theology of praise so that they praise God in holiness and truth. This is only possible through Jesus Christ and his work on the cross for them, as the one and only Messiah; this is the Messiah David was looking forward to and the Messiah the church looks back to who has already come. This Psalm is a call to all people to praise God in righteousness, and then demonstrates God’s government and judgment over the whole earth in response to those who praise him rightly, and those who do not.

God, as the glorious Savior of his covenant people, has redeemed a people of praise; those whose theology of praise extends from the word of God into their mind, then to their regenerated heart, to their mouth and finally seen in their actions. Such a people will be a community of those who offer testimony and witness to the great acts and wonders of God’s being and grace to a fallen world; from being a witness to their children, to their next door neighbor, their cities and country, to all those across the world. While such work is going on, this covenant community will also be watchful as a community of believers knowing that Christ may choose to return and judge the world in righteousness at any time, where Christ will finally usher them into an eternity of praise; a place where creation and the church will praise Christ forever, the Lamb who was slain before the foundation of the world. In all this, they are furnished by this Psalm with a theology of praise.

Get the eBook pack here at Puritan Publications.
Get the Printed Book here at My Spotlight Page.
Get the Amazon Versions here.
Get the Google Play Versions here.

Table of Contents:
Chapter 1: Sing Unto the Lord
Chapter 2: Bless His Name
Chapter 3: Declaring His Wonders
Chapter 4: The Object Worthy of Our Praise
Chapter 5: The Beginning of Wisdom
Chapter 6: The Beginning of Wisdom Part 2
Chapter 7: Manufacturing Foolishness
Chapter 8: Reflecting God’s Brilliance in Christ
Chapter 9: A Living Sacrifice
Chapter 10: Worship in Holiness
Chapter 11: Rejoicing in the King
Chapter 12: Heaven and Nature Sing
Chapter 13: The Conclusion, that He Cometh

Not open for further replies.