Federal Vision and Commonalities

Status
Not open for further replies.

Romans922

Puritan Board Professor
I am a little new to FV and I had a question concerning it.

Specifically (besides Jesus, etc.), what do those who believe in FV have in common with R. Catholics?

"When exegetes and dogmaticians get together it is noticeable that they tend to sniff suspiciously at each other, as dogs do, uncertain whether they can be friends."
--J.I. Packer

Originally posted by Puritanhead
there both heretics

I've been reading into this issue, and I just don't see the big fuss. I don't understand how they are anti-gosple either. Most the Federal Vision guys preach sound sermons and I know Schlissle has a very healthy church. That is doing many good things in advancing the gospel. I can't believe has harsh and arrogant some of you guys have been.

Originally posted by ABondSlaveofChristJesus
there both heretics

I've been reading into this issue, and I just don't see the big fuss. I don't understand how they are anti-gosple either. Most the Federal Vision guys preach sound sermons and I know Schlissle has a very healthy church. That is doing many good things in advancing the gospel. I can't believe has harsh and arrogant some of you guys have been.

What have you read?

Originally posted by Romans922

Specifically (besides Jesus, etc.), what do those who believe in FV have in common with R. Catholics?

Originally posted by Romans922

Specifically (besides Jesus, etc.), what do those who believe in FV have in common with R. Catholics? [/quote]

There are at least 4 ways in which the FV (I understand that the FV is a loose affiliation, but for the purposes of discussion I'll treat them as a group) is like Rome: