First Smoked Brisket

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joshua

AdMEANistrator
Staff member
This was my first attempt at smoked brisket, and my first attempt at smoking food period.

18318952_127374827812307_4224520556049781934_o.jpg

My own thoughts:

1. Appearance: 10/10
2. Bark Texture: 10/10
3. Bark Taste: 9/10
4. Overall taste: 8.5/10
5. Doneness/Finish: 7/10

I am pretty pleased with the out come, considering it is my first attempt. I left it on a wee bit too long, so there are some tough spots. However, there are several delectable moist and burnt-ended delicious spots, too! Good smoke ring, for whatever that is worth. I would use a little less salt on the bark next time. I am mostly thankful that I didn't completely fail on my first try.

(all the family that had it, liked it)

Went straight for the brisket eh? :)

It looks great. What was your done-ness test? Probing or temperature? Which smoker did you use?

Looks good! Here's a rub I use... I found it online several years ago and made some minor tweaks to round out the flavor profile.

5 T smoked paprika
2 ½ T coarse kosher salt
2 T garlic powder
2 T onion powder
1 T brown sugar
4 tsp coarse ground pepper
2 tsp chipotle chili powder
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground oregano
1 tsp cayenne pepper

Went straight for the brisket eh? :)

It looks great. What was your done-ness test? Probing or temperature? Which smoker did you use?
Well, I am not down with smoke terminology just yet, but it was a little tough in some places (but not bad; I was well-pleased with the results). I took her off after she stalled on 196 for a little bit, then wrapped her in foil and let her rest for about 2.5 hours. The smoke range was between 215 and 260, but stayed under 240 most of the time. I used the Weber Smokey Mountain smoker. I am just thrilled I didn't completely ruin it! :)

I just finished breakfast, but now all of a sudden i want lunch... Yumm... Well done friend!