Gospel Singalongs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Organgrinder

Puritan Board Freshman
As an amateur musician I have been in a few loosely organized bands doing gospel singalongs. Mostly it has been in nursing homes but also in other churches besides my own. I play accordion and I play the melody line. I'm told the folks like it and they enjoy the visits.

I believe in the Regulative Principle and so I'd never do such a thing for a Sunday morning service. Mostly gospel singalongs are done on Saturdays or weekdays.

Do you all think such activity is really worthwhile? I play because I like to play, not because I think I'm doing something super spiritual or anything like that. Is anyone in here involved in doing gospel singalongs? Oddly enough, my own church doesn't have that kind of ministry even though they really like their country gospel music. I could easily find senior centers to play solo in but I'm just really not sure if I should spend my time that way. What do you think?

I agree. Its entertainment. And if you enjoy doing it, then go enjoy yourself. By doing so, you may be giving a moment of joy to someone who needs it.

Our family was involved in a nursing home ministry with our church for awhile, and I know that when there was any kind of special instruments played it usually drew quite a crowd. I'm sure that you are brightening the day for many of the elderly folks when you play for them. I call that worthwhile!

I think it is a tremendous blessing, and a ministry in the sense that we all minister to one another.

I think nursing homes are great places to bring in the singing of God's praises, and truths from His Word. There are Christians there who must derive no small comfort from remembering and singing hymns with you. And there are non-Christians who are almost certainly near to meet the Lord, and your gospel singing may well be the impetus for their turn to faith.