Greek/Hebrew tidbits

Status
Not open for further replies.

blhowes

Puritan Board Professor
[b:c53015e875]In another thread, Joe (Wannabee) wrote:[/b:c53015e875]
Guys, I can't believe how much I've learned in less than a year through my studies of Greek and Hebrew. And I hardly know a thing. I studied Greek on my own for just a few months last year, and now I only have a few months of Hebrew under my belt. The Scriptures just got a whole lot deeper for me. It's truly awesome. Some of what comes alive in the original is amazingly absent in the English.

Many of you are either just starting to learn or have many years under your belt in Greek and Hebrew (Latin for some as well). For those of us who have no training in those languages, I thought I'd ask those with the training:

Could you give an example or two of something you've learned about a scripture by studying Greek or Hebrew that you might not otherwise have seen if you just read the English without the extra knowledge? Something you thought was really cool that made you either want to go run and tell somebody or brought you down to your knees in deeper worship or praise. Let's assume that the word "baptizo" has already been taken ( :lol: )

Bob

[Edited on 2-24-2004 by blhowes]

Bob...

For me, it is just neat to see it all come together and know that the translations we have are either faithful, or took a bit of liberty.

I am in an inductive study of Hebrew which means that it does not start out with learning paradigms and vocabulary, parsing and such. But, it starts out like we all learned English. We put words together, learned the alphabet, learned to spell and so on. I think it is a good approach, although, it can overwhelm you since we learned English over the period of 10 years, and I only have 3 or 4 semesters to learn Hebrew.

The inductive study is not good for those who want to know the rules of language because you only get the rules in bits and pieces.