Greetings from Pittsburgh!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by wcf_linux, Nov 4, 2019.

1. wcf_linux

wcf_linux Puritan Board Freshman

Greetings from Pittsburgh!

I am Kevin, and I'm married to bookish_Basset. I'm a professional Linux person who works in the tech industry. (Hence the user name.) I'm also a church history/historical theology geek. I used to do some writing on a site belonging to a college friend, and I've recently been trying to get back into writing even if not for formal publication.

I'm originally from the Los Angeles area, and like my wife I was raised in the Independent Christian Churches (Restoration Movement). I spent high school and early adulthood in various kinds of evangelical churches. I went to Biola for college, where I made my first small steps towards Reformed theology but also picked up a mild case of Anglican fandom. I cured the latter by attending a pair of theologically liberal graduate schools (one on the East Coast and the other in California) where I studied church history. (Seeing everyone responding to the "confessing to plants" service at Union made me feel like more of my Reformed brothers finally understood what I had to put up with at similar schools!)

My church history studies contributed to my gradual Calvinization. One of my grad school profs unwittingly helped greatly by his emphasis on how the early Lutheran and Reformed leaders spoke of their practice of reformed worship and preaching as making the Church visible. Some developments at the then-PCA church plant we attended in the Bay Area got me studying the Westminster Standards, which is when it all really clicked for me. In particular, it was the doctrine of Effectual Calling that showed me that those "Five Points" actually had something to do with what's going on in pulpit and pew in actual churches.