hello all

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lukemk824

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi everyone, my name is Luke. Newbie freshman here.

I am a Christian who is newly reformed (over the last few years), and still learning much. I am studying all the reformed confessions with an open mind and gleaning much from each. My theology holds to the doctrines of grace, the sufficiency and authority of scripture, and the perfect sovereignty of God over all things.

I was raised a pastor’s kid in the Church of Christ and never knew anything of reformed theology or Calvinism until I was truly saved in my early twenties. Though raised in a very different tradition, when I made my faith my own (not my parents’ or my church’s), it was under the teaching of reformed theologians and pastors. The church I am currently a part of is a hurting church and I know God has me there to serve them at this time. My father was the pastor of this church and after a scandal that led to his resignation (while I was already looking for a reformed church), I felt I could not leave the church in good conscience without helping restore some soft of normalcy there. My wife and I plan to move when it is time for me to attend seminary, and at that time we intend to become members of a local reformed church.

I would be happy to answer any questions about this. My situation is quite unique. It is a long story and I do not want to ramble on too much in this specific post.

I have been a non-member visitor to the website for over a year now. I sought membership with the Puritan board because I love Puritan theology and the discussions had here. I was often finding myself wanting to ask questions or share my input on certain posts and am glad to finally have the opportunities to do so now. Thank you!

Jake

Puritan Board Senior