Hello from central Florida

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Hannah_, Jul 6, 2018.

1. Hannah_

Hannah_ Puritan Board Freshman

Hi im new to reformed doctrine, but a long time lurker on this site. Does anyone have any suggested reading?

2. Ryan&Amber2013

Ryan&Amber2013 Puritan Board Sophomore

Welcome! What part of Florida are you in?

As for reading, what are you most passionate about right now? Maybe that will help everyone give you recommendations.

3. arapahoepark

arapahoepark Puritan Board Senior

4. Hannah_

Right now I have been listening to a lot of jonathan edwards john piper and im going through rc sprouls sysematic theology. Im also looking into progressive covenantalism vs progressive dispensationalism trying to figure out what affirms the Bible.

5. Hannah_

6. kainos01

kainos01 Puritan Board Junior

Sproul will certainly give you an accessible introduction to Reformed theology; Piper, not so much (he isn't really Reformed, other than being loosely Calvinistic and he has some fairly novel ideas, as well). Edwards is great - in a class of his own, actually - but maybe not the best place to start, as he can make the heads of lifelong students of Reformed theology spin!

Are you coming from a Baptist perspective? If so, reading some of Spurgeon's sermons will certainly profit you. Of course, it would surely help to familiarize yourself with the relevant Reformed confession(s).

Ultimately, it may be best to begin reading Scripture with a good commentary nearby to understand the texts as they are typically understood in Reformed theology. Matthew Henry is always a pretty good option for this.

By the way - welcome! May your interactions here prove fruitful in your relationship with the Savior.

7. Edward

Edward Puritan Board Doctor

Greetings.

8. Hannah_