Hello from England

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bookworm

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello everyone,

I've been reading the Puritan Board for quite a while now, and enjoying the discussions, but this is my first actual post. I suppose I should say a few words of introduction.

My wife and I live in Cambridgeshire, in England, and we're members of Soham Baptist Church. I work full time as a researcher and lecturer for a UK-based creationist organization called Biblical Creation Ministries, about which you can find out more by following the link in my signature.

My early years as a believer were spent in a charismatic fellowship (and I still have friends in that church), although I soon began to have doubts about the biblical basis of charismatic theology and practice. Various books were helpful to me at that time, including Victor Budgen's The Charismatics and the Word of God (Evangelical Press) and Neil Babcox's My Search for Charismatic Reality (Wakeman), the former from the biblical, theological and historical perspectives, and the latter as a sensitively written testimony of a former charismatic church leader.

The next significant step in my discovery of Reformed theology was reading Life by his Death, Grace Publication's abridgement of John Owen's classic The Death of Death in the Death of Christ. I remember devouring this little volume with astonishment one afternoon, with my Bible in my other hand, thinking, 'How did I miss this for all this time?' :book2:

Since then, I suppose I have become more and more distinctively Reformed as time has gone on, and I have sought to re-evaluate many areas of my thinking in accordance with the Scriptures. But that's probably enough for now, lest I bore you too much with all the details of my journey of faith!

I'm looking forward to being a part of the PB community and contributing on occasion as time allows.

Best wishes,

Paul

JonathanHunt

Puritan Board Senior