Help me find resources to deepen my understanding of Covenant Theology/paedobaptism

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul1976

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi all,

In brief, I am currently credobaptist but would sincerely like to explore the paedobaptist position.

I'm still relatively new to reformed theology, having drifted towards it beginning around 5 years ago and considering myself broadly reformed for less than 3 years. I'm broadly familiar with the argument on both sides of the baptism debate. One thing I learned when discarding my dispensational eschatology for a cautious amillennial outlook is that you couldn't judge a theological system by simple arguments or just looking at a few passages. I needed to see the entire book of Revelation presented over an 82-sermon series before I could appreciate the position.

I suspect something similar is the case with paedobaptism. To understand the position, I doubt I could look up (say) ten key passages and suddenly see the issue as mature paedobaptists would. I also doubt any number of posts or arguments would change my mind. Rather, I think I should start by trying to deeply understand covenant theology. Is this correct?

I read "Sacred Bond; Covenant Theology Explored" recently. I was surprised to find little I would have disagreed with as a dispensationalist (I must not have been a very good dispensationalist). However, I think a more in-depth treatment would be more helpful. Can I get some suggestions for an extended sermon series that could help me to understand covenant theology in sufficient depth that I would be able to properly appreciate and understand paedobaptist arguments? Due to limited reading time, and a pretty full stack of books urgently needing read, it would likely take me years to get to longer books on the subject (but feel free to make suggestions). However, I can listen to sermons for 50 minutes per day.