Help on Seminary Decision!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgrant1118

Puritan Board Freshman
Greetings Puritanboard members!

I am a current grad student at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in their MA Old Testament program. However, through a long string of events, God has been redirecting me into ministry in the church. With that being said, I'll be finishing my MA soon then applying for an MDiv. This is where I need the help.

I've already formed some opinions about the schools to which I am applying, but I'd like to get some of your thoughts. I'm looking at RTS-Jackson, Covenant Theological, and Beeson Divinity.

I'd like your thoughts on academics. Which is stronger? What has a better reputation outside of its region? What are some general thoughts or advice you might have?

Thanks so much!

I guess it all depends. Do you think a surgeon should go to medical school? :D

By the way, I don't have much to contribute other than a suggestion to read through the last few pages of posts in the Seminary/College forum. Discussions on those seminaries and others have been quite active in the past.

While I know these seminaries have been discussed in the past (last I saw was 2008), a good deal has changed. Professors have gone and new have come. I've heard Covenant has been on a downward slide over the past years. RTS has added new MDiv emphases. Current ideas would be great! However, I could be wrong and the information from years ago may still be valid. Either way, could someone go wrong with either MDiv program?

John,

Of the three choices you give, I would recommend RTS-Jackson without hesitation. Jackson is soundly reformed, Confessional, and has excellent pastoral emphasis. I'm traveling this week on church business, but if you want to call me at my office next week (281.392.0002) I can give you more detail.