How do I stop procrastinating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Braden

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm currently studying to become an accountant or an economist (not 100% sure yet) but I keep running into this issue: I can't stop procrastinating.

I know that we're supposed to do everything our hands find to do with all our might, but does anyone have any practical tips for doing this?

Thanks.

I battle this nearly every day. At the end of most days I find I've done a lot of work.

My approach is to pick up the most distasteful task that I've been dreading, break it into manageable parts, and do the part of that I dread the most. For me it is returning phone calls. I sometimes have 40-50 voicemails, especially if I've been occupied in court. So I spend 1-3 minutes on each call. Two hours of exhaustion--except I now have ideas and reminders on how to get through those other dreaded tasks.

Once you blast through whatever is blocking you, it almost becomes fun to press on.

I think what leads to procrastination is worrying about how to do something. Dive in to a portion that you know how to handle and get a flow started. It's like a boat--if you aren't moving the rudder won't steer. Once you start moving, steering becomes easy.

Others suggest starting with the easy stuff. I don't find that to work for me very well. Start with the hard stuff. When you make a little progress you might find your attitude saying "I can do this!"

Seriously, I've been doing what I do for nearly 3 decades and I still often start the day thinking, "how do I handle this?" That's paralysis unless you come up with an answer by breaking things into subparts or subroutines.

If you do hit a mental block and feel like just vegging out on cat videos, it's time for your imaginary drill sergeant to come out and order you to do pushups. (I'm not kidding--I do pushups when I get discouraged). It gets the blood flowing and frames your attitude.