How heretical is dispensationalism?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherwin L.

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm still learning my way through the great theological dichotomy that is covenant theology vs. dispensationalism and I've scoured the PB forums only to find many varied opinions. I grew up in a Dispensational arminian church heavily influenced by Darby and Keswick teachings. There was a lot of teaching on the free will, OT ceremonial law, and premillennial eschatology.

My first real exposure to reformed theology (at least from a soteriology/grace perspective) was through MacArthur. I know there's a lot of consternation on PB over his Dispensational teachings (mostly the eschatology), but from my observation, there are still leaps and bounds separating MacArthur from the classic Dispensationalists like Ryrie and Scofield. I've read a few comments on previous posts suggesting that even MacArthur's brand of dispensationalism is dangerous. My question is: how so? And to what degree is dispensationalism as a whole even heretical?

Thanks for helping a new learner.

I'm still learning my way through the great theological dichotomy that is covenant theology vs. dispensationalism and I've scoured the PB forums only to find many varied opinions. I grew up in a Dispensational arminian church heavily influenced by Darby and Keswick teachings. There was a lot of teaching on the free will, OT ceremonial law, and premillennial eschatology.