How long before you received your first call?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjraby

Puritan Board Freshman
To all people who have completed seminary. How long after graduation did you wait to receive your first call?

I suspect it varied depending on the times. Back when some of the dinosaurs here graduated, they had to first call their families to tell them, then their families told their friends, who in turn called them. It probably took a bit for the news to travel before the first phone call came.

Now, with the advent of text messaging, I bet you'll be able to text your friends and they'll give you a return call pretty quickly.

I graduated in May of 2006 and was among the last in my class to get a call. I was called to my present work in July 2006.

I received two calls before I graduated. One to Chicago RPCNA and one to Los Angeles RPCNA. I finished my presbytery exams before I finished seminary. I received both calls when I was eligible from my presbytery.

What steps did all of you take to get to the positions you're in? What suggestions would you give someone who's in seminary now to transition directly into a position? What was most helpful to you in receiving your call?

I know more people who either haven't gotten a call yet, because these days there are so many Older pastors who won't retire, that there is no reason to hire a first time call, or even look at there PIF or listen to a sermon. I have a good friend who applied to 50+churches and some said that, even if he is qualified, they aren't even looking at his application because he's a first time call.