I need help (Greek Scholars please help!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reformed1

Puritan Board Freshman
Ok, I'm studying the Roman Catholic doctrine of the mass right now. As we all know, Catholics believe that when Jesus said "This is my blood" that he meant that it was really his blood in the wine, hence the first instance of transubstantiation. Now, The Catholic Encyclopedia states:

"the present form of the participle "eckynnomenon" in conjunction with the present "estin" establishes the first point. For it is a grammatical rule of the New Testament Greek that, when the double present is used (that is, in both the participle and the finite verb, as is the case here), the time denoted is not the distant or near future, but strictly the present."

Eric Svendsen dealt with this issue a little but not in the sens of a "double present." Can any of the Greek scholars help me out here? I have not been able to find anyone who deals with this point that the Encyclopedia brings up. Any help is appreciated!

As we all know, Catholics believe that when Jesus said "This is my blood" that he meant that it was really his blood in the wine, hence the first instance of transubstantiation.

Refuted in the very next verse as Jesus refers to the same contents of the cup as "this fruit of the vine".

"For it is a grammatical rule of the New Testament Greek that, when the double present is used (that is, in both the participle and the finite verb, as is the case here), the time denoted is not the distant or near future, but strictly the present."

Strange. Perhaps they are confusing this with the rules governing a periphrastic particple (which this is obviously not).

On temporal particples in general, Wallace says of the Present Participle: